Winners Van Gogh AiR 2023-2024

Winners Van Gogh AiR 2023-2024
28 September, 2022 Ron Dirven

Jury report

For 2023 and 2024 the Van GoghGalerie & Gastatelier Foundation has issued an Open Call for residencies of one month in the sexton’s house at Van Goghplein in Zundert and residencies of two months in the Flemish barn at De Moeren Estate.

The question was to follow in Van Gogh’s footsteps and to be inspired by the famous artist and the place where he was born and raised. The call was addressed to both established artists and young talents from the Netherlands and abroad.

A total of nearly four hundred applications were received. After careful consideration based on the quality of the portfolio and the motivation submitted, the jury reached the following selection.

For a working period in the sexton’s house: Asuka Nirasawa (JP), Carien Vugts (NL), Efrat Merin (IL), Elisia Poelman (BE), Emilia Tapprest (FI), Flora Bradwell (UK), Isamo Thissen (NL), Jacquie Maria Wessels (NL), Jan van den Dobbelsteen (NL), Jarik Jongman (NL), Lotte Wieringa (NL), Machteld Rullens (NL), Paul Klemann (NL), Tja Ling Hu (NL), Vita Buivid (UA) en Wouter van Riessen (NL).

For a working period in the Flemish barn at De Moeren Estate: Aaron van Erp (NL), Emmie Liebregts & Fenna Koot (NL), Jazmin Charalambous (UK) & Felix Mohr (DE), Josua Wechsler (CH), Lotte van Lieshout (NL), Margot Zweers (NL), Thijs Segers (NL) en Liao Zhixin (CN).

Jury Van Gogh AiR,

Ron Dirven, director-curator Vincent van GoghHuis
Eva Geene, curator Van GoghGalerie
Esther van Rosmalen, artistic leader Witte Rook | coordinator AIR Platform Brabant
Marjolein van de Ven, curator Stedelijk Museum Breda